This website is under process of updation.



  This website is under process of updation.



The Member countries have nominated the National Focal Points of the SAARC Disaster Management Centre.

Afghanistan : Afghanistan National Disaster Management Authority (ANDMA) is the National Focal Point of SDMC has the mandate to coordinate and manage all aspects related to emergency response to disaster, with post disaster recovery and development phase being the  responsibilities for national disaster management policy and  plan and active implementation role.

Bangladesh : Department of Disaster Management was established in 1993 to provide support to disaster management planners, decision makers and practitioners at all levels in Bangladesh. It is a small dynamic professional unit on a national level to provide specialized efforts in the field of disaster preparedness, local level disaster action, contingency planning, awareness generation and facilitating important information collection.

Bhutan : The Department of Local Governance under the Ministry of Home and Cultural Affairs of the Royal Government of Bhutan is the focal agency of disaster management in Bhutan. It coordinates all disaster management activities in the country and is responsible for public awareness and disaster preparedness with special focus on vulnerable groups.

India : Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) or Home Ministry is a ministry of the Government of India. An interior ministry, it is mainly responsible for the maintenance of internal security and domestic policy. The Home Ministry is headed by Union Minister of Home Affairs.

Disaster Management Division The Division is responsible for response, relief and preparedness for natural calamities and man-made disasters (except drought and epidemics). The Division is also responsible for legislation, policy, capacity building, prevention, mitigation and long term rehabilitation. National Disaster Management Authority NDMA

Maldives : A National Disaster Management Center was established to facilitate response and coordination. The Ministry of Defense, Ministry of Finance and the Ministry of Planning and Development lead the emergency response and relief efforts in collaboration with other Departments, UN agencies and other development partners. The Center has been the focal point for all response, relief and recovery activities. National Disaster Management Center in the Atolls and islands has similar management arrangements with representation of all the relevant stakeholders. The National Disaster Management Center is developing a national policy for disaster management which clearly spells out roles and responsibilities of various ministries for management of disaster.

Nepal : The Department of Narcotics Control and Disaster Management under the Ministry of Home Affairs is responsible for formulating policies and plans regarding oral aspects of disaster management in coordination with various key disaster actors. The department also works as the Secretariat of the Central Industrial Disaster Relief Committee (CIDRC) which is chaired by the Home Minister.

Pakistan : National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) of Pakistan has been set up under Section 3 of the National Disaster Management Ordinance 2006 and is responsible for the preparation of the national planning, coordinating, mandating and implementation of the plan, lay down guidelines for preparation of disaster management plan by the different Ministries and the provincial Governments. The Chairperson of the NDMA also functions as the Ex-officio Director General of the National Disaster Management Commission which is headed by the Prime Minister and includes the leader of opposition in the National Assembly, concerned Ministers and the Chief Ministers of the provinces.

Sri Lanka : Ministry of Disaster Management and Human Rights was established in November, 2005 under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister to take lead role in directing the strategic planning in disaster response, risk mitigation, preparedness, planning and risk reduction. The Ministry works under the moral direction of the National Council of Disaster Management (NCDM) which is chaired by the President and Vice-chaired by the Prime Minister and Leader of Opposition, Ministers and provincial Chief Ministers as its Members. The Disaster Management Centre (DMC) was established in July, 2005 to implement the directives of the NCDM.

Back To Home